Michigan Marijuana Defense Lawyer Discusses Laws and Penalties

Scales of Justice Michigan Marijuana Defense LawyerA Michigan marijuana defense lawyer may be able to help you if you have been charged with being under the influence of marijuana while driving. According to Michigan state law, driving under the influence of marijuana is a crime. The penalties for DUI violations may also apply to drivers and other passengers. Michigan law allows medical marijuana use under certain conditions, but it is still a crime to drive while using medical marijuana to the point where your physical or mental faculties are impaired. The use of marijuana in conjunction with other substances, such as alcohol or other drugs, can also have an impact on the criminal charges you may face. Your age at the time of the accident may also play a role.

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

It is not legal to drive while under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, or any other drugs. If your blood alcohol level is over 0.08 percent, or if you have consumed any alcohol at all while under the age of 21, you will be determined to be under the influence. Even if your blood alcohol was under the legal limit, the prosecutor may argue that your actions prove that you were under the influence. Marijuana laws differ in that any amount of marijuana found in your system through blood or urine analysis establishes that you were under the influence while driving.

DUI Penalties

DUI penalties vary according to whether you have any prior convictions. If alcohol is involved as well as marijuana, you may face harsher penalties. Upon your first conviction, you could face a fine of up to $300, up to 93 days in jail, 360 hours of community service, or a combination of those penalties. Your second conviction within seven years results in a larger fine of between $200 and $1,000, between five days and one year in jail, between 30 and 90 days of community service, or any combination thereof. Upon your third subsequent DUI conviction, you may face a fine of between $500 and $5,000, one to five years in prison, probation, or 60 to 180 hours of community service.

Contact a Michigan Marijuana Defense Lawyer

If you are facing marijuana-related charges in conjunction with a driving offense, you may benefit from consulting a criminal defense attorney. The penalties of marijuana charges are determined by statutory law, but the handling of your case may vary depending on the circumstances as well as the prosecutors and judges in your area. Contact Miel & Carr PLC today at (616) 773-2945 for more information on obtaining representation before your case goes to court. A Michigan marijuana defense lawyer may be able to help you defend yourself against the charges filed against you and navigate the court system more effectively.